#Words+ and @HP Lost My Son’s Communication Device

communication device

Remember the post I did about my son’s communication device being broken at school?  The device was broken at the end of March.  We sent it to Words+ to be fixed.  My husband called them and got the address to send it to, and an estimate on what it will cost to repair it.  He packed it up and shipped it out.  We waited for a phone call that never came.  You would think that they would call us when they received it.  No.  It just sat on a desk.  It was looked at, but that was it.

My husband ended up calling to find out what was going on.  They said only the screen needed to be replaced, and they needed payment before fixing it.  The cost was $350.  We paid it.  It hurt us, but it hurt more to have my son without his communication device.

We were told that we would have it back in a week.  A week went by, and nothing.  We waited a few days after the time that was given to us to expect it in the mail.  Then my husband called.  Words+, in California, mailed it to Texas.  That didn’t make sense to us.  If it had to go to Texas to be fixed, why weren’t we told?

Two weeks later and still nothing.  It’s been over a month since we sent it to be fixed.  We’ve paid for it to be fixed.  My completely nonverbal autistic son has been without his device for over a month.  My husband called yesterday.  Guess what?  It’s somewhere between Words+ and HP.  HP?  When did they get involved?  Words+ is the software.  HP is the hardware.  Since it’s the screen that need to be replaced, that falls on HP.  Only, nobody knows where it is now.  We were told it shipped out from one to the other, but they can’t find the tracking information.  It’s lost.  Now what do I do?

I am so frustrated at the lack of support from Words+.  I’m so angry that my son is still without his communication device.  If I had known that this was going to happen, I would have went with a different company for a communication device.  I should have gone with a device from DynaVox Mayer-Johnson.

18 comments on “#Words+ and @HP Lost My Son’s Communication Device

  1. Absolutely unacceptable! I’m also beyond frustrated and sad for you!

    A close family member with VERY limited speech capabilities had a Dynavox and had nothing but trouble with it. She’s using a speech app on an iPad 2 now and it’s working far better than the DV ever did.

Leave a Reply

