The Legacy of Eden Book Review

I was asked to participate in the book tour for Nelle Davy’s The Legacy of Eden. I enjoy reading books, so I said yes. They sent me the book to review and keep. Today is the scheduled day for the author to stop by my blog and answer any questions my readers may have.
I enjoyed reading this book. It’s a complex look into three generations of a family, from the view point of a third generation member. She is Meredith Pincetti, the youngest grandchild of the family. She relates the history of her family, as she lived them or heard stories about. She also carries a secret that isn’t revealed until the end of the story.
Meredith relates the story of the rise and fall of the Hathaway, her family, and the family farm Aurelia. I found that the book is dark in it’s content. This is not a happy, loving family. At the root of the family, and it’s history, is Lavinia Hathaway. She is Meredith’s grandmother, and the main catalyst of the events in the book. Lavinia manipulates people and events, with the end goal of getting what she wants.
The ending of the book left me wanting more. I wanted to know about Meredith’s future. I wanted to know about the future of her two sisters. I also wanted to know if Aurelia , the family farm sold at auction, will ever reclaim it’s past glory.
I think those are good questions to ask Nelle Davy on her visit to Carolina Mom Bloggers. I would also like to ask her a few other questions.
1. What was the inspiration for this story?
2. Do you have plans for another book, and if so, can you tell us a little about it?
3. Lavinia seemed like a character with no moral compass. What was it like writing that type of character?
4. Who is your favorite character, and why?

5 comments on “The Legacy of Eden Book Review

Leave a Reply

