Getting Another Year Older

Tomorrow is my birthday.  I’m at the age that I don’t like my birthday.  It means I am a year older.  Remember the time when birthdays were excited?  I used to love getting a year older.  Now, I dread it.  I look in the mirror and see gray hairs I hate, and wrinkles I want gone.  In my mind, I’m not old.  The mirror has a way of making you see the truth.

I am going to be 41 tomorrow.  Yikes!  I’m starting a new skin care regimen.  Hoping to reduce the wrinkles I see around my eyes and mouth.  And my neck.  Hair color takes care of the grey hairs, temporarily.

Growing older isn’t all bad.  They say with age comes wisdom.  I must say, I am definitely wiser than I was when I was younger.  Experience is the best teacher.  Wouldn’t it have been nice to have the experience and wisdom that I have now, back when I was younger?  I think about the choices I made that I would like to change, but realize that if I did that, I wouldn’t have what I have now.  Our choices, good and bad, led us to where we are now.  They are also what we draw on to teach our kids.  Hopefully, we can help them to not make the same bad choices we made, and steer them towards the good ones.

Do I have a birthday wish?  If I could have anything, I would want…. Actually, I can’t think of anything.  At least, not an item.  It would be nice to have dinner out with just my husband.  Kind of a combined birthday and Valentine’s Day.

Since tomorrow is my birthday, I will give myself the day off.  I’ll post again on Friday.

14 comments on “Getting Another Year Older

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! Take it from someone who is a wee bit older than you… it is better than the alternative. lol. Hope you enjoyed your special day!

Leave a Reply

