Do You Have Plans For Valentine’s Day?

Valentine’s Day will be here soon, and I don’t have plans.  Do you have plans for Valentine’s Day?  My husband and I can’t go out for the evening, because we don’t have a babysitter for the kids.  It’s difficult for parents of an autistic child to find a babysitter.  I’ve given up.  When I am lucky enough to get a family member to watch my kids, I feel like I’ve won a great prize.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t happen a lot.  I think my husband and I managed to get one or two nights to ourselves last year.

For me, Valentine’s Day is just another day.  Same with my husband.  We don’t need a special holiday to show each other how much we love the other.  We do it everyday.  Valentine’s Day is a bigger deal for my 8 year old daughter.  I have to get her Valentine’s Day cards, and help her fill them out.  I also have to buy candy for her to take into school.  I don’t buy cards for my son, but I do get candy for him to take to school.

Would I like a night out with my husband on Valentine’s Day?  Of course I would.  It’s not going to happen, so I don’t expect or wish for it.  If we do anything for this upcoming holiday, it will be dinner out with the kids.  Would I like flowers from my husband on Valentine’s Day?  Of course I would, but I don’t expect them.  Actually, and this may sound strange, if my husband were to spend money on me, I would prefer it to be in a practical gift.  A nice food processor, painting supplies to paint the bathroom.  Flowers will die and get thrown away.  A practical gift will be around for a long time.

What are your plans for Valentine’s Day?

7 comments on “Do You Have Plans For Valentine’s Day?

  1. We’re also the type of couple that isn’t really into Valentine’s Day. I feel like it’s a holiday for “newer” couples that feel the need to impress each other. I also prefer practical gifts!

  2. It’s on a school day, so we’ll either take our son out for a slightly early dinner, or my hubby and I will go out to lunch together while my son is at school. Not sure, yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

