Healthy Lifestyle Versus Diet

When I hear the word “diet”, I cringe.  The first thing I think about is what I can’t eat.  When I hear “healthy lifestyle”, I think about things that I can eat, only less of them.  I prefer to think that I am living a healthy lifestyle, instead of dieting.  Dieting has always meant to me, temporary.  Something you do to lose some weight, and then you go back to eating the way you were.

I don’t want to do that.  I want to eat healthy, lose weight, and then maintain my weight when I reach my goal.  In order to do that, I have to eat healthy.  I have been doing this for a little more than 4 months, and have lost 35 pounds.  The weight is coming off slowly.  I have more energy.  I feel better.  I am also exercising.

There isn’t a food group that I can’t eat.  There are ways that food are cooked that I need to avoid.  Chicken and fish are great proteins to eat, but the worse thing to eat if they are fried.  I don’t eat fried foods anymore.  Sweets are bad for you in large quantities, because of the sugar in them.  But, if I pick sweets that have a low sugar content, and limit the amount I eat, that is fine.  Also, I have found that if I make my own sweet desserts, I can eliminate some of the sugar content normally found in that item.

I have reduced the portion sizes of the foods I eat.  I use a smaller bowl, or dish, to eat out of.  I also eat slower, and drink water before I eat.  This helps to fill me up faster.  When I am in the kitchen, and go to reach for something to munch on, I stop and ask myself two things:  1.  Am I hungry?  2.  Am I reaching for something to eat because I just want to munch?

For either question, if the answer is yes, I reach for something that is healthy.  Carrots are my go to snack when I have the munchies.  A bowl of vegetables and fruit if my stomach is telling me I am hungry.  It’s all about the choices you make   when you go to reach for food.  I am always eating something, but I am eating healthy.  Now that I am used to eating this way, I have found that I don’t ever feel like I am starving.  I eat small meals, and snacks, all through the day.

If you are thinking about going on a diet, don’t.  Instead, change to a healthy lifestyle.  Healthy foods and exercise. are what you need.  Think long-term.  You have a better chance of succeeding if you don’t eliminate food groups from what you eat, just the way they are prepared.

19 comments on “Healthy Lifestyle Versus Diet

  1. One of the most difficult things for me is portion control. I’m doing pretty good so far this year, but I’ve had a lot of stress and my appetite has been affected. I just hope once all the stress is gone, I can be mindful of the portion control. And you’re right, using the word “diet” I think can sabotage a person from the get-go.

    • I can relate to the stress. That’s a big reason I used to eat a lot. I like to eat when I’m really stressed out. To help me with that, I make sure I have carrots in the fridge at all times. I buy the small carrots in a bag, and they are already cleaned. That way, I can grab and eat.
      For portion control, putting my food on a small plate, or in a small bowl, has helped a lot.

  2. portion control is huge with me. When we’re out to eat I have been asking for a to-go box at the beginning of my meal and I put 1/3 away for later so I don’t automatically eat everything on the plate they give me.

Leave a Reply

