Lean Bean Casserole Recipe

I had a simple Christmas Eve dinner with my family at home.  I have to watch my cholesterol, so I had to be careful with what I made for us to eat.  One thing that my family likes is Green Bean Casserole.  I found a recipe on Hungry Girl for Rockin’ Lean Bean Casserole.

I made some changes to the recipe.  The original recipe calls for water chestnuts.  I don’t like them, so I left them out.  It also called for onion flavored soy chips.  I couldn’t find any at my grocery store.  Here is my adaptation of the recipe:

Ingredients

  • Two 16-oz. bags frozen French-style green beans, thawed, drained, and dried
  • Two 10.75-oz. cans 98% fat-free cream of celery condensed soup
  • 1 oz. (about 15 pieces) onion-flavored reduced fat baked onion chips, crushed

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  The original recipe calls for spraying a casserole dish, but I didn’t do that.

The original recipe states to thoroughly dry the beans before you put them into the casserole dish.  I didn’t do that, and the result was that I had water in the bottom of the casserole dish after I baked it.  I recommend following Hungry Girl’s directions in making shore that the beans are completely thawed, drained, and dried. Then place half of the green beans in the casserole dish.

Layer the green beans and the soup, alternating the grean beans and the soup so that you end up with two layers of each.

Pour 1 can of the soup evenly on top of the layer of green beans. Cover with the remaining green beans and then top with the remaining can of soup.

Bake in the oven for 45 minutes. Top with crushed reduced fat baked onion flavored chips, and return the dish to the oven until crisps turn golden brown, about 10 minutes.

This is a picture of the one I made.  The picture is a little fuzzy, but I wanted to share it with you.

6 comments on “Lean Bean Casserole Recipe

Leave a Reply

