Christmas With The Family

Christmas day was great!  We traveled up to the Asheboro area, (home of the NC ZOO), and spent the day with my side of the family.  Before we left home, the kids opened Christmas presents and ate breakfast.  The day started early.  My daughter woke my husband and me up at 6:30.  After sending her out of the room with strict instructions not to open presents, I dragged myself out of bed and had a shower.  The shower was a must to wake me up.  My son was up late last night.  He was so excited about one of the gifts he knew he was going to get. (It’s the drum set pictured below).  Santa couldn’t visit until he was asleep.  My daughter went to bed early on Christmas Eve.

The kids loved all of their presents, but the two winning gifts were LaLaLoopsy and the drum set.  My son isn’t easy to shop for.  He is considered low functioning ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder).  He is also completely nonverbal.  He loves music.  The drum set put a huge smile on his face.  My daughter has been talking about LaLaLoopsy for the past month.  When she wrote Santa, and put it on her list, I had to ask my blogging friends on MomDot what a LaLaLoopsy was.

Christmas Day was spent at my Aunt’s house.  My daughter had a great time playing with her cousins.  The adults laughed and reminisced about past Christmas get togethers.  We observed how the kids weren’t playing with their new toys.  They were happy just playing together outside.  My son spent the day taking a few rides on the golf cart, playing on his new internet tablet that my sister had bought him, and hanging out with me.

It was a relaxing day, which isn’t always the case.  If you have an autistic child, or know someone that does, I’m sure you can understand.  You can not predict how your child is going to react in such a high sensory environment.  We’ve had our stressful Christmas days.  Thankfully, this wasn’t one of them.

We are going to try something new for New Year’s Eve.  The local bowling alley is doing a family night, 6:00- 8:00.  We usually stay home for New Year’s Eve, but I think both of my kids will enjoy this.  What are your plans for the New Year?

7 comments on “Christmas With The Family

  1. I’m so glad your kids had a great Christmas and it was relaxing for you! I would not have known what LaLaLoopsy was either!

    Wishing you a blessed New Year!

Leave a Reply

